Matthew 7:15-20. Hey Gays. Chew on This!

A post by Neil Hart on homosexuality, LGBT, lesbian and gay stuff and the Lutheran Church of Australia.

Matthew Vines is a young gay Christian who put together an hour long presentation examining and challenging the Biblical texts which are commonly used to support the traditional church view on homosexuality.

I used his presentation in a series of studies that I have just trialled with small groups in 2 congregations. The participants represented a broad spectrum of opinions from those sympathetic to the gay cause to those who were strongly opposed. Regardless of the views they held coming into the studies everyone found it impossible not to be moved by Matthew’s thoughtful presentation and honest  and heartfelt reflections

Matthew said…

I may well find someone I grow to love and would like to spend the rest of my life with. But if that were to happen, following the traditional interpretation of scripture, if I were to fall in love with someone and if those feelings were reciprocated, my only choice would be to walk away- to break my heart- and retreat into isolation. Alone. And this wouldn’t be just a one time heartbreak. It would continue throughout my entire life.

Whenever I came to know someone whose company I really enjoyed I would always fear that I might come to like them too much, that I might come to love them. And within the traditional interpretation of scripture, falling in love is one of the worst things that can happen to a gay person because you will necessarily be heartbroken, you will have to run away. And that will happen EVERY SINGLE TIME that you come to care about someone too much.

So when you watch your friends fall in love, get married and start families you will ALWAYS be left out. You will never share in those joys yourself.  You will Always. Be. Alone.

Both Matthew Vines and that other Matthew from a couple of thousand years ago remind us of the measure Jesus used to distinguish good teaching from that of the “false prophets” who have hearts like “ferocious wolves”. You will know them by their fruit. As Jesus said, “You can’t pick a bunch of grapes from a thorn bush”.

Well, for far too long the church has been handing the gay people in their midst a fist full on thorns and saying….

Chew on this! I know it hurts but its good for you!

Of course, there is an alternative.

Now THAT is one sweet bunch of grapes!