I need your help.

Hi reader.

I know its been a while… and I hate to ask… but…I need your help.

Over the last 5 years I have advocated for the needs and rights of the LGBTIQ people in our church. This blog has been an important part of that advocacy. It has provided an important and worthwhile protest voice. It has critiqued church policy and official LCA media and public statements. It exposed the terrible nature of the Yahnke lectures. More importantly, at a time when few were publicly speaking out for the needs of the LGBTIQ people in the Lutheran Church of Australia, this blog let them know that they weren’t alone and that Jesus and others in the Church do walk beside them.

But it is time for something different. While a single protest voice is ok, it will be relatively powerless to bring real change to the church.  Change comes when  a critical mass of people within the church collectively work toward that change. Change comes from grassroots movements. It’s time to make that happen.

Unknown-1

I am delighted to announce that I have been selected into the 2016 Reformation Project Leadership Cohort.

The Reformation Project is a US based organisation that exists to train Christians to support and affirm lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) people in the Church. The project is building a grassroots movement in Churches throughout the world to create an environment where LGBT people are fully accepted, affirmed and included in all areas of church life.

On completion of my leadership training in April 2016 I will establish a local chapter of Reformation Project in Western Australia. We will offer local leadership training, Bible studies, speaking events and other opportunities to spread Jesus’ message of love and equality. I hope that WA readers will consider being a part of this movement for change.

But I need your help.

Will you consider a donation to help me travel to the US in April to complete my training. More information is at the link below.

CAUTION! Donations are in US Dollars. Please take that into consideration. If you donate US$10 then approximately AUS$14 will be deducted from your account. Oh… and make sure you change the country from US to wherever you are. I think some people have had some trouble donating because of that. You’ll work it out I’m sure :-)

CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION AND TO DONATE

Whether you can donate or not, thank you so much for the support you have given to this blog over the years.

and

Of course the blog will continue…