I just saw and heard the most beautiful thing. Its about love.

A post by Neil Hart on homosexuality, LGBT, lesbian and gay stuff and the Lutheran Church of Australia.

Love is patient. Love is Kind. (1 Corinthians 13)

I had an argument recently. Strange, I know, Coz Im so easy to get along with! (Where IS that sarcasm font?)  Someone from the church had written letters about me asking the church authorities what they were going to do about my blog. This person is an active campaigner for the traditional church position on homosexuality.  When I confronted him about the letter I asked him why he didn’t come directly to me if he had a problem with what I was doing. I told him that what he had done was the act of a coward.

Hmmmm…. not good.

My words came from anger.

We talked some more… I apologised and withdrew the “coward” comment. I tried to explain that my concern was with the type of anti-gay emails he had been circulating and the harm that they do. What surprised me was that this was the only point in the whole discussion when he showed a flash of anger. He said

I’d rather take the accusation of coward. I am NOT ANTI-GAY.

There it is.

A nice man, a loving and devoted father. A dedicated church member. A responsible and caring community member. Appalled by the thought that he could be accused of being ANTI-anyone. He is about love because he is about Jesus and Jesus is all about love. Its not homosexual people he is against. it is their…

Homosexual ACTIVITY

their…

Homosexual LIFESTYLE

I guess he was only giving voice and action to what the church is saying.

But…church…you cant do that. OK. So you are able to reconcile in your own mind this strange schizophrenia. But that doesn’t mean a gay person should rip themselves down the middle just to match your views.  You cant ask someone to separate their love from their life.

I just saw a youtube clip posted only 2 days ago by rap artists Macklemore and Ryan Lewis in support of the Washington State referendum Question 74 for marriage equality. This says it better that I can.

This is beautiful.

Press PLAY not PAUSE!

I cant change even if tried, even if I wanted to.

My love. My love.  Keeps me warm

Love is patient. Love is kind.