Apology From The LCA President? Finally… His Response.

A Post by Neil Hart On Homosexuality, LGBT, lesbian and gay stuff and the Lutheran Church of Australia.

WA District Synod.  3 March.

President Rev Dr Mike Semmler gives his report to synod and accepts questions.

My question…

I started by acknowledging the care that the president has shown to pastors in the Church. I then advised him that I was speaking on behalf of  members of his church who were offended by the statements he made in his submission to Parliament against marriage equality last year.

I read verbatim from his statement…

In nations that have legalised gay marriage… there has been pressure to allow group marriage, polygamy and incest between consenting adults and even in extreme cases marriage to consenting animals.

I reminded the president that identical comments made by Parliamentary secretary Cori Bernardi led to his sacking and that prominent parliamentarian Malcolm Tunbull called these statements bazaar, offensive, hysterical, extreme, repugnant and disrespectful.

I pointed to the community*s increasing impatience with such statements. I advised him that to link certain members of his church with those who practice bestiality and incest was indeed offensive. I asked him, with respect…

Will you consider withdrawing your statement and publicly apologising  for the hurt you have caused.

I hoped he would apologise  but didn’t really expect it. I guessed that he would try to defend the statement. But his response was, to say the least, was surprising.

Rev. Semmler. (unblinking)

I never said that.

Me. (Dumbfounded).

But… I am reading verbatim from your statement to the federal parliamentary enquiry.

He mentioned that the head of the Church*s Commission on Social and Bioethical Questions forwarded some statements that he also included in his submission. I suggested that because he forwarded it as a part of his submission letter  and because it was published by the government as a part of his submission that it was actually a part of his submission and that he was indeed responsible for the comment.

But, No, he doubled down. He never wrote it therefore he is not responsible.

So..to summarise… in completing his submission the president asked for and received  statements from one of his key advisers. He printed those statements out and put them in the envelope addressed to the government together with a letter containing his signature. he licked the envelope and sealed it up and put it in the post… but…  (sigh)… he is not responsible.

I imagined a courtroom scene. The defence lawyer addresses the court.

Your honour… I’m sure that my learned colleague from the prosecution and the ladies and gentlemen of the jury will acknowledge that although my client indeed held the gun in his hand, although he acknowledges his antagonism toward the victim and his desire to hurt him, although he freely admits to loading the pistol, aiming it and squeezing the trigger… I think it is obvious to everyone that is was actually the gunpowder and the mechanism of the pistol that projected the bullet into the heart of the victim.  No one should hold my client responsible.

or another scene of scriptural significance…

Ex 32. 2 Aaron answered them, “Take off the gold earrings that your wives, your sons and your daughters are wearing, and bring them to me.” So all the people took off their earrings and brought them to Aaron. He took what they handed him and made it into an idol cast in the shape of a calf, fashioning it with a tool… 

19 When Moses approached the camp and saw the calf and the dancing, his anger burned…

22 …“Do not be angry, my lord,” Aaron answered… “You know how prone these people are to evil. 23 They said to me, ‘Make us gods… 24 So I told them, ‘Whoever has any gold jewelry, take it off.’ Then they gave me the gold, and I threw it into the fire, and out came this calf!”

I mean…Moses!… I know that I collected the gold and threw it into the fire… but… am I realy responsible if this calf thing happened to fall out and the people started worshipping it?

Anyway… back to the Right Rev  President (Honorary Dr)  Mike Semmler

No Apology.

No Integrity.

************

Image courtesy of seedsnotweeds.blogspot.com