So sad. But there is something worse.

A post by Neil Hart on homosexuality, LGBT, lesbian and gay stuff and the Lutheran Church of Australia.

What can be worse than tragically, suddenly loosing your loved one.

So… what could be worse than that?

Well… something does come to mind.

Recently the Lutheran Church of Australia sponsored a seminar on sexuality called Clear Conscience Courageous Living  hosted by the Mannum Congregation. One of the presenters, an American Psychologist named Dr Beverly Yahnke led a couple of sessions on homosexuality. I’ll talk more about these sessions in another post.

For today i just wanted to relay a story she told. In her mind it was a story of miracles, a story of strength in weakness. Less so for me.  This is how it was told to me by someone who attended the conference.

She (Yahnke) had a couple of neighbors in a long term homosexual relationship. The neighbourhood called them “Barbie and Ken”. I’m  not sure if this was done in a friendly way or not – she seemed to indicate it was. They were not churchy or religious. Anyway one of the pair was dying of AIDS and to the dismay of his partner asked the priest to visit him. At the end of the visit he asked his partner to leave him, go away, end the relationship. So he died “forgiven”… “righteous”…

Alone.

The person who told me this concluded…

“I can’t cope with this – this bears no relation to my faith.”

Agreed my friend. So, what are we gonna do about it?