A letter from one of our gay friends. :’)

One of our gay friends had the courage to share his views. His words touched me, as they did some of our other readers. So, with his permission, i thought i would put his comments up as their own post so more of you would have a chance to read them.

In the post “Sir Ian Mckellen an Abomination?” one of the comments said …”God didn’t make GLBT’s that way any more than ‘the devil made me do it.’”

Here is our friends response…

If God didn’t create me the way that I am, then who did? Wasn’t it He that knit me together in my mother’s womb? Or was it because my parents listened to Queen in the car radio that I have an attraction to the same sex? (I know it is not as simple as this, but it proves my point.) Or was it the devil that made me gay? I must be so weak willed that I couldn’t withstand the temptations. Perhaps I just don’t have enough faith… if only I could move mountains with my faith, maybe then I wouldn’t be gay. And wow, God was obviously okay with letting my soul go through to the keeper, I was one of the expendable ones who, oh well, we missed that one, so sad, too bad. It’s okay for God to have given gifts to those uplifted by our society and made them that way, but He couldn’t have made those poofs that way. Surely…
Jesus loves me, this I know!

In the post  “Another college chaplain and another gay student” i talked about the church as standing in middle ground, Unwilling to speak too harshly against homosexuality for fear of public backlash and yet unwilling to publicaly affirm them and their sexuality.

Our friend says…

Hetrosexual Lutherans might find it comfortable to “take their time” in the middle ground. What about the homosexual Lutherans who are waiting for the majority to make up their mind about whether they are acceptable or not. I respect everyone’s right to an opinion and in no way want to pressure anyone one way or another… but think about those who are waiting. Should they live their entire lives waiting in hiding because the majority are not comfortable to leave the middle ground just yet? Waiting in hiding and watching as their best friends marry (in a church being blessed and recognised by their community). Watching as their friends have children and raise their family to live the values they hold true (knowing that they can never afford to pay a surrogate or ever be considered as a suitable adoptive parent). Being constantly reminded that they may never be in a lifelong committed relationship because of the fear of rejection by their community. Being constantly reminded that they may never have the joy of having children or raising a family. Watching and sitting silently because they love their job in a Lutheran school but know that if they were to come out their career progression would be over. Watching and sitting silently as hurtful and divisive statements are made that make them feel like God created them to be damned. Watching and sitting silently in hiding as life passes them by because no one will make a stand for them because they’re not sure yet. I stumbled upon this blog after a facebook acquaintance shared the link. The blogs are not too long. They are not long enough. They are not loud enough. They should be nailed to the church door. So by all means sit comfortably and take time to think it over and come to a decision in your own good time. While you do that please do not forget those sitting uncomfortably in the shadows waiting for someone to stand up for them.
Jesus loves me, this I know!

In the post “The letter YOU sent to parliament objecting to gay marriage pt 2.” I questioned the theology of the letter and the right of the Leaders of our church to speak for all of us on this subject.

Our friend said…

It was for this very reason that I wrote to my Member of Parliament before the discussions in parliament and reminded him that while I indicated that I am a Lutheran on the census data form this does not mean that a document tabled by the Lutheran Church of Australia represents my own opinions. I can only hope that my affiliation with the LCA did not lump me in with the contents of the letter. Neil, you have made my day, week, month, year and perhaps more with your writings. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! If only the church would see the urgency some people feel on this issue and not take another 500 years to form a final opinion! While it may not make a difference in the lives of the hetrosexual leaders of the church it certainly makes a difference to the homosexual members of the church who wait in hiding out of fear! Jesus loves me, this I know!

Thnx man! I will close by including tapio’s and amy’s responses to your comments.  woops…i didnt get their permission…im sure they wont mind…

Thank you for posting, reading your posts really made a difference to me. I feel as though I am no longer thinking about an issue but a person. That makes a difference to me. I am also glad you are affiliated with the LCA, The stuff Neil is talking about is real now, closer to home. Thank you. I know it was real before but hearing from you gave me a reality check. Tapio.

Thank you for your post, it really hit home, my two year old just came to give me a hug cos there are tears running down my face. I have been pretty half hearted about my attendance and involvement in my local lutheran church the last few years, lots of reasons, laziness amoungst them, but also cos im sick of the contradictions and judgemental attitudes. you could say a strong faith in God, but a weak faith in our church. But i will be there this sunday, because i dont want to be a lutheran who questions the current traditional views, believes differently, wants more and better for all Gods children…but stays at home. Nothing will ever change that way. Yes, Jesus loves you, and he loves me too! Amy.